Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Washington Charter School  
45-768 Portola Avenue
Palm Desert , CA  92260
Allan Lehmann, Principal 

WCS Chatter
February 12, 2015

Uniform Policy
Throughout the year I do “uniform checks” in the classroom. This is in addition to the regular monitoring that is done by the classroom teacher. We want to be sure that all the students are in compliance with our Shared Support Agreement. As the school year has progressed, there has been an increase in the number of students in violation of the policy. I ask that when you lay out your child’s clothing for the school day to please adhere to the uniform policy. If your child is tasked with getting dressed in the morning, please check his/her uniform before he or she departs for school. Below are some of the more common non-compliance items.

> Socks must be solid red, white or navy blue (we’ve seen black and other colors worn)

> Shorts are too short. They must be the right length and need to pass the fingertip test

> Students are changing out of their uniform when the school day concludes

> The shirt that is worn under a shirt must be red, white or navy blue

When a child is sent to the office for not being in uniform we attempt to put them into a spare uniform, but our supply is dwindling. If you have some gently used tops and bottoms we would appreciate your donating them so we can loan them out when the need arises. If this is not possible, we will have your child call you and ask for a compliant article of clothing. I realize that this is an inconvenience; however, it is simply not fair to the other students in the class and school who are in a school uniform. It’s also a teachable moment. 

Work Completion
Each Tuesday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. students who have not completed all of their assigned class work or homework visit Mr. Lehmann in the homework line. I try to remind the students each Friday if there are   assignments that have not been completed, they should finish it over the weekend and turn the work into their teacher first thing Monday morning. By doing this your child will not have to visit me in the homework line. Even with prompts from the classroom teacher and the principal, an ever increasing number of students are visiting the homework line. I thank you for monitoring your child’s work. Please be sure that all of their assignments are completed and turned into the teacher. It would be delightful to spend a week where no child visits the homework line. 

Congratulations to the following Super Students
A.J. Marino, Tess Mollica, Rocky Portolesi, Alyson Shannon, Todd Needham, Jael Comunidad-Tovar, Brooke Baumgartner, Sophia Lagos, Kade Robinson, Myranda Rojo-Gonzalez, Destiny Hernandez, Sofia Elenes, Katie Carian, Noah Jackson, Gia Perrotta, Abraham Burgos-Rojo, Jonathan Sanchez, Paul Bucy, Courtney Brennan, Mila Chase, Tei Park, Cheyanne Lee, Cameron Sacks, Aidan Forehand, Malia Martin, Mario Corrales-Arellano, Ximena Gonzalez, Genevieve McIlroy, Josue Comunidad, Mary McCrary, Eva Ontiveros Barth, Lucy Triviso, Kaila Tahtinen, Milan Diaz, Brogan Liddy, Monserrath Acosta, Evan Saenz, Jasmine Espinosa, Michael Castelli, Isabella Bucy, Jared Meza Torres, Ryan Martinez, Gianna Marino, Ilham Nur, Julianna Pheil, Isabella Gonzalez, Hannah Albert, Ashley Rojas-Dominguez, Haley Ewing, Brycen Papp, Angel Gabriel-Valentin, Megan Antonov, Noel Lightner, Pierce Armstrong, Victor Sanchez, Maya Getzelman, Parshva Patel, Isaac Noriega, Alana Garcia, Marissa Alcala, Mimi Brodeur, Calum Hill, Quinn Greenwald, Jayden Kinkade, Parisa Azody, Chloe Hildre, Leandra Amador, Jonathan Zimmerman, Lucca Huth-Vagell, Joshua Mondragon, Allister Arsua, Sienna Palomares, Wyatt Hoang, Maelynn Lavergne, Sid Parvath, Emme Hanson, Isabella Fuentez, Parker Finnell, Eva Bauer-Ginn, Daisy Armstrong, Buford Wiley, Kathryn Berenbaum, Hannah Gaertner, Lauren Beaty, Katelyn Ainsworth, Kelsey Gilbertie, Madelyn Liddy, Dylan Guillermo, Camilo Fimbres, Chloe Flaum, Willow Wilde, Jack Roland, Leo Covarrubias, Lynne Barnes, Javrie Seneres, Kyle Von Haden, Carter Yoon, Fiona Hoang, Dominykas Kalanta, Charlize Box, Ben Hecht, Alyssa Maerean, Harmony Renquist, Demetri Chester, Aiden Shields, Bennett Creighton, Sierra Minker, Tristan Johnson, Charlotte Trudeau, Rory Christiansen, Vincent Granados, Bianca Rivkin, Emma Harvie, Amailee Crisp, Brady Clemmer, Chase Toutant, Katie Compton, Louis Murdica, Johnny Bojorquez, Kerrigan Burns, Maci Hoyt, Namita Khanchustambham, Janely Arzapalo

Upcoming Events
Friday February 13-No School
Monday February 16-No School
Wednesday February 18-Super Student Assembly 4th and 5th Grade
Thursday February 19-WCS Governing Board Meeting 3:30 p.m.
Monday February 23-ELAC Meeting 2:15 p.m.
Tuesday February 24-WCS Open House For Prospective Families 9:00 a.m. & 1:00 p.m.
Wednesday February 25-Super Student Assembly 4th and 5th Grade
Wednesday March 4-Super Student Assembly 1st , 2nd, 3rd Grade
Friday March 6-Minimum Day School Dismisses at 12:30 pm
Monday March 9-No School (teacher work day)